2003-05-05 at 2:25 p.m.

why?

i asked him why.

"why are you being so distant?"

he said, "i'm sorry."

we talked for what like seemed to be only minutes, but actually had turned into hours. we sat outside in the early evening sun. on the week-old-cut grass. as the lightning bugs came out to play. sipping our skyy blues and looking into each others eyes.

i ached for the day to be longer. for our time outside just talking to last forever. it seemed that we could talk through anything.

it had been a while since we talked like that.

it had been a while since we spent that much time together without any interruptions. no phone calls. no radio. no television. no friends.

just us.

i knew we couldn't stay out there forever. we weren't kids anymore. we are grownups. with grownup jobs and grownup bills. as i pull my arms from around him he looks into my eyes and says, "i think i want chinese for supper." maybe not the most romantic thing to say, but i knew then that things would get better. i still know now.

as we sat on the living room floor at our coffetable, eating our sweet-&-sour chicken and general tso's chicken, i leaned my head onto his arm. he lifted his arm around my shoulders and just held me.

as we got ready for bed we laid there in utter silence. i wanted him to say, "leigh, i love you." and i started to wonder if he was thinking the same thing. did he want me to say, "chris, i love you."? but then his hand found mine. and as he gently squeezed my fingers, i knew then how actions speak louder than words.

***

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker