06.08.2007 at 3:22 pm

going to the river

i loathe the humidity in south alabama. the way that it makes my makeup melt from my face. the way that it makes my hair stick to the nape of my neck (that's why i usually wear my hair up in a bun, and let me tell you, boy does my husband think that is sexy...). the way that it makes me feel like i need to take a shower, even if i have had one not 20 minutes earlier.

now, i realize that i don't live that far from the gulf. we don't live close enough to go for a day trip, so everyone here LOVES the river. they have sea-doos and boats and go every weekend to recreate (like my new word?) in the river. children playing on the sandbars, adults sitting in their lawn chairs beside their coolers and radios with country music blaring. teenagers playing chicken and throwing each other into the water.

i have been "to the river" in that sense once in my life. ONCE. with a good friend of mine. and yes, i had a very good time. it must have been before janie was born... (that's the way mothers judge time, before the baby, after the baby, etc...)

we went with her father and met up with some friends from high school. i wasn't so impressed with the trip that i just had to go again, but i did have a good time. it was pleasantly memorable.

and i know that most of the industry in the area that i live comes from the river.

and i don�t HATE the river.. i just don't quite understand the logistics of it all. i mean, this is a RIVER. an icky, fishy, smelly, RIVER. now, remember, i said that i had a good time when i went.

BUT a friend of mine (no names used to protect the infected) went to the river with a group of friends a few weeks ago. i saw her the next day and she said, "come in here. i want to show you something..."

i followed her into the bedroom, and she turned around and said "now, i don't want to freak you out, but look..."

she then pulled up her shorts to show me her upper thigh.

her legs looked like .... uhh... i'm not sure that i can even begin to describe it. it was not pretty.

it did heal well, though. but i am oh so very glad that when they called me to ask me if i wanted to go with them and take janie, that i said no. i had too much going on, well, that's what i told them, anyway.

i just didn't want my 3 year old, who ends up going to the doctor all the time for everything already, getting in that water. i did think i was just a paranoid parent. that is, until i saw her thigh.

so... now.... until janie is older. like WAY older... we won't be "going to the river" as people say around here.

and hopefully, when i tell her this story in 10 years, she will understand. or maybe by then, we will have a pool, and she'll never ask.... hmmmm..... that would be nice.... a pool......

an in-ground pool behind a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 1 story house.... with just enough yard... with a privacy fence around the backyard... and a basement for a cool party room.....

yeah....that would rock....

now how in the heck did i go from humidity, to the river, to my dream house?

;)

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker