12.08.2005 at 2:34 pm

believing

i was never taught to believe in Santa Claus. was my childhood horrible because i didn't honestly think that a jolly fat man was going to come down my non-existent chimney and deliver presents to me if i was a good little girl?

no.

do i condemn people for teaching their children that Santa Claus is real?

NO.

i was never taught to believe in Santa Claus. but i do not think that i missed out on the magic of Christmas at all. when i was six years old and my parents took me and my sister to Walt Disney World in florida, i didn't actually believe in the "magic of disney" either. not because my parents took me aside and said anything to me about it only being pretend. i just knew. i never believed in the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, or anything like that. because my mother's thought is this:

Santa is everywhere at Christmastime. the Easter Bunny is all over the place during the spring. they are caricatures that kids can SEE. no one can SEE God. how then, can we tell our children (when they grow older) to BELIEVE in something that they can't see, but not believe in something they can?

one of my father's most horrible memories as a child is when he found out that Santa Claus wasn't real. somehow my grandparents had been able to get him to still believe until he was eleven years old. and that year he wanted a pony. he had dreamed Christmas eve night that Santa had come and given him the beautiful horse that he wanted so much. it was one of those dreams that is so vivid, you just cannot forget it, you know? well, he woke up, and ran into the living room. no horse. he looked outside. no horse. he asked his mother and father where his new beautiful pony was...and then he found out the truth.....

THERE IS NO SANTA CLAUS.

i do remember telling one little girl who was about 6 at the time (i think i was about 9) that Santa Claus wasn't real. i didn't think it was a big deal. and she started crying her eyes out. when my mom found out (and of course it didn't take her long to find out) she laughed and told me that i needed to tell the little girl i was sorry and she should believe whatever her mommy told her to. � that was mom's way of not having to have me tell the little girl that i was wrong. because i wasn't.

don't ask if i am going to buy my precious daughter a slew of gifts for Christmas... BECAUSE I AM. i love buying gifts, especially for small children � and so does my husband. the fact that i don't (and have never) believe in Santa Claus has NO BERRING on whether or not we celebrate Christmas. because he is not the reason anyone should celebrate Christmas.

i am not condemning anyone's view on this matter. they can do whatever they want with their children...just like i will mine. but i am ASTOUNDED by the fact that most parents treat Santa as if he is the only reason for Christmas. it's just plain sad...



xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker