12.01.2005 at 10:10 am

photos

for the past few days i have been gathering photos of my family so that i can put together a family-tree-picture frame for my mother for Christmas. i ordered two of them from red envelope, one for my mother and one for chris's mother. getting the tree frames was the easy part. getting all these pictures together, and scanning them into my computer, and changing them to black and white, and resizing them, and cropping them to the right size is the HARD part � by far... well, maybe not hard...more like time-consuming. i even had to get my father in on it because i didn't own a picture of his parents. and now that i think about it, i should have gotten one of my aunts to get the pictures for me instead of getting my father to do so. this gift would have been a great surprise for him as well. but, what's done is done. he'll still enjoy it, i'm sure.

i had to be a little sneaky to get pictures of my mom's parents. i had a few pictures, such as from my wedding, but none that were really good of granny and pawpaw. i started going through her plethora of photo albums yesterday afternoon. i found the pictures from my grandparents' fiftieth wedding anniversary and they are perfect! i told mom that i needed to scan them into my computer so i could have some pictures of granny and pawpaw because i didn't have any good ones. it was the truth...just not the whole truth and nothing but the truth. but, i don't think she'll mind the fib-of-omission once i give her the frame. 

when i told my mom that i was going to scan some pictures so i could have the digitals of them, she decided that she wanted me to scan a picture for her because she no longer has the negative of it. it's a picture i stole from her photo album when i went to college. it is my favorite picture of my dad and me. i think i am about 6 and jami is about 2. dad was so tired in this picture. it was back-in-the-day when he was teaching school, delivering appliances for alabama power, teaching night classes at alabama southern community college (which was called patrick henry junior college then), AND spraying houses for terminix. so yeah, i'd say he had a right to be tired.


xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker