2003-05-09 at 10:39 a.m.

appreciation

how can a technologically advanced, cutting-edge digital online diary compete with a wire-bound paper journal and pen with multi-colored highlighters with drawn all over pages along with the blood, sweat and tears that come with the entries?

i tell you, in most ways, it cannot.

there is no online diary ever written that can compare to the genuineness of a true hand written diary. not one, i tell you.

and yet, there are some advantages to having your diary online for all the world to see rather than keeping it hid under your bed, inside a box with oodles of old pictures and ticket stubs from when you were still dating your now husband.

one of these advantages is the having the input of other people. people who find your life interesting enough or your writings intriguing enough to take time out of their day to read your entries.

recently i have found such a person.

his name is jason.

the way we became friends is inconsequential to the basis of this entry, so i will save that story for a later entry�

�you have a beautiful mind if i may say so,� he wrote in an email to me just yesterday.

a beautiful mind? i was astounded by that statement. granted, people have told me in the past that i have a nice writing style, but for someone to tell me that i have a beautiful mind? i had to make sure he knew that he hadn�t addressed that email to me by mistake.

�a beautiful mind? could you elaborate on that one for me?� i asked. surely he was just trying to be overly cajoling.

�how you word your sentences, your articulation. you seem like a very sensual person,� he wrote. �you should be a writer.�

i was comfortably embarrassed (which is a preposterous oxymoron)� someone actually likes reading my diary. even now this surprises me.

i relayed what jason told me to chris.

�really?� he asked as his eyes perked up. �he said you should be a writer?�

�yep. it�s nice to know that someone thinks i write well. but now i�m worried that i won�t be able to keep writing at the same quality that i have been,� i replied, my smile being replaced by a furrowed brow.

�aww, you will. don�t worry,� he said with a smile.

sometimes i am delighted at the confidence chris has in me. any time he makes any type of comment that relates to something that i have done that he is pleased with or impressed with, my heart swells with pleasure.

to have someone else think of your work as notable is a delightful sentiment.

thank you, chris and jason. thank you from the bottom of my heart.

*****

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker