05.23.2006 at 11:52 am

for melanie

i have never had a friend quite like mel. someone so much like me � and yet, i still strive to be be even more like her. someone so nice. someone so giving. we are both educated. both teachers. both mothers.

we love being teachers. we adore being mothers. our husbands have both had to spend time away from us (for very different reasons, but still). we both truly appreciate what it is to have a family at home together because we have both had to keep our families together during a harder-than-hard time.

she brings me chocolate when i am having a bad day. she buys me lunch whenever she can (AND she knows exactly how i like my subway club � double meat, ranch, mayo, regular mustard, pickles on wheat). she gives me valentine's day presents, mothers' day cards, and of course, Christmas presents. we go to each others' children's birthday parties and swap stories about babies constantly.

when things are going wrong, whether it be at work, at home, with friends, or with family, i always know she will understand. i have known her less than one year. we didn't meet until august of last year. i remember the first day i met her. i actually thought to myself, dang, she's perky... i wonder if she is like that all the time... and now i think to myself, i don't know how i would have made it through this past year without this girl. she's been my saving grace.

yeah, melanie. i love ya. you're like my sister. and sometimes my mother. � but only when i need it. thank you for being there for me. through everything. and thank you for all the things i know you are bound to do in the future. 'cause that's just the way you are.

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker