06.05.2007 at 10:11 pm

crazy people in wal-mart

it's time to get back to normal blogging. the kind that i normally do, anyway. the meaningless drivel that fills most of these hypertext pages is what i have been longing to type for the past few days... but haven't been able to because of pawpaw.

it's time to get back to being happy and writing about the funny and sometimes irritating randomness that makes up my life.

last week, close to the end of the week, i went on my normal trip to wal-mart. i only needed a few things, and i think i may have had about 14 to 16 items in my buggy (yes, it's a buggy, not a shopping cart - it's a southern thing) therefore i got into the express lane. there were 4 to 5 people in each lane that was open, and you could hear the customers' aggravation growing as they realized that they were going to be stuck in these lines for a while, and that at least half of the registers were not opened. i wasn't that perturbed, but i didn't really want to spend 30 minutes of my afternoon waiting in line either.

as the woman behind me voiced her irritation at the lack of wal-mart associates that were actually working, one of the customer service reps came over to open a register right beside us. she looked at me and motioned for me to move my buggy over. at that moment, a woman with long red hair ran over in front of me, pushed my buggy out of the way and hollered "i've got it!" to her husband who was waiting in line about 6 feet away. as i pulled my buggy back into line, this woman whipped around and mawkishly said, "i'm sorry."

i looked back at the woman behind me. before i could make eye-contact with her (as to say, PLEASE don't make a scene... PLEASE) she loudly said, "no you ain't sorry. if you was, you wouldn't have done it in the first place," with one hand on her hip and the other waving in the air.

all i could do was look down at the floor. i couldn't help but to smile, almost so much that i couldn't contain myself. but as soon as i looked down, i heard the other woman with the long red hair start in on this nice woman behind me. i say she is a nice woman, and i don't even know her. but the fact that she was willing to almost start a word-fight with someone in wal-mart over a girl she didn't even know proves something, right? the red-head turned back to her husband and said a few things that i shouldn't and won't type here on my blog, and i looked at the woman behind me.

"please...if you are doing this for me, don't. i don't care that much about a place in line." i said it as sincerely as i could, with my eyes as large as i could. because, the red-head? i know her. that's all i am going to say about that.... you should get the picture....

"oh girl, it's okay. i done said my piece and she can just keep running her mouth. don't you pay her no attention," she replied. i just wanted to hug this woman. why can't i just leave well enough alone in situations like she can? just get whatever it is off my chest and let it go? maybe i should start doing yoga, or something....

as i checked out in line (i actually got done before the red-head) and walked towards the door, a friend stopped me. he had seen the whole episode. and apparently, he knew the red-head as well.

"overheard your little verbal altercation that almost took place... i'm glad that your friend let it go," he chucked as he spoke to me, both of us pushing our buggies out the sliding doors.

"me too. is everyone crazy in wal-mart today?" i asked. i had seen a couple other people that are known for their eccentricities. the kind of people that everyone has their own story about. or the kind that everyone knows the same story about, but there are 20 or 30 different versions - each one more implausible and unbelievable that the last. but all true, nevertheless. ;)

"well, we're in wal-mart, leigh. whatcha tryin' to say?" he looked at me with a gleam in his eye.

"we had better get out before it catches a hold of us too..." i pushed his buggy out of the way and beat him out the door.

as i went home and talked on my cell phone to chris, i told him the story of the crazy lady in wal-mart. his reply was "jerry springer done come to our wal-mart." and the funny thing is, that is almost how it felt. i was worried that these two women standing right there next to me were about to come to blows over a dang place in line at a wal-mart register.

but that night, as i sat outside with chris, i realized. and i ran to the car to get my camera. somehow, it all made sense once i saw this...

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker