01.26.2008 at 8:02 am

okay with me

lately i have been otherwise occupied and i have not been taking the time from my days or nights to do much of anything with my blog.

but not only have i not been blogging, i haven't been taking pictures either. yeah, i took a WHOLE BUNCH this past weekend, but it was janie's first snow and her birthday party. since sunday?

nothing.

nada.

i've been trying something new with janie at night. instead of allowing her to stay up until whenever i decide to go to bed, we go on to bed between 8 and 8:30. and i usually fall asleep right with her. i've been getting more sleep this way, most of the time. because there are those nights that i wake up at 11:30 wide-eyed and not able to go back to bed. that seems to happen about every other night.

things at work are wonderfully stressful. that's the only way i can describe it. everyday someone else asks me to fix this and that or serve on this committee or be over that organization or .... well, you get the idea.

i've gotten better at saying no.

i thought i was pretty good at saying no, but i've realized that when you say no, you have to stick to your guns. saying no and then getting asked a second time and then saying yes means that you're really not good at saying no.

lol

my wonderful sister just left me a message on facebook:


my beautiful sister, i want you to know how much fun i had with you and janie this past weekend, i miss you both daily (yes i know i check your blog and picasa DAILY, just in case there is new info!!) i am lookng forward to february to see you both. i hope all is going well, yes i still miss AL daily!! Just want you to know that i thnk i am now the "smart one" since you are definitely the "pretty one" now!!!! hey we both have to have a "title!!!"

but what i have i realized over the past few months?

that there really isn't a "smart one" and a "pretty one" between me and my sister.

there simply are two smart, beautiful women.

every day i wish i was more like her with her calm demeanor and classic beauty. and every day she looks at my life with envy as though it is quintessentially perfect.

when i was younger, i could have never imagined that my sister would grow up to be such a strong and beautiful person. she is actually my favorite person. really... well... not including janie (but i am a bit partial on that one).

so jami... i'm not the only pretty one.

and you're not the only smart one.

but... if you want to call me the pretty one, that's okay with me.

;)

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker