09.20.2007 at 10:50 am

original four

when i was growing up, most of my memories involve my sister jami and my two cousins, amanda and catherine. we were always together. my grandmother kept us every afternoon after school and most summers (before my mom became a teacher and was off every summer). so, all four of us sorta grew up like sisters.

i am the oldest, amanda is 2 ½ years younger than me, catherine is 3 years younger than me, and jami is 4 years younger than me. being the oldest when we were growing up was probably WAY cooler than being the oldest now. now, i'm just old. back then, i was cool. i've been married for over 6 years, i've got a 3 year old kid, all i talk about is things i need to do in my house.... you know, i'm not cool and exciting anymore. i'm an old married fuddy-duddy. *L*

last summer amanda and jami both got married to two wonderful guys. amanda moved with her husband josh to tennessee and my barbiedoll-sister moved with her husband daniel to the ATL.

in just over 48 hours from now, my cousin catherine is getting married. she is the last one of our little group to get married. she's getting married in the same church that all of us have gotten married in. it's the church that my parents were married in. it's the church that janie was dedicated in. it was the church that we all grew up in. it's our church.

i feel like this is the end of a chapter... like... since the last of the "original four" (as my aunt susan calls us) is getting married this saturday... we all have to really start acting like adults. and even though there are those times when we all should act like adults and be all serious and unfun... like at a funeral... or...well... that's about the only one i can come up with right now.... i don't want to start acting like an adult.... i have responsibilities, and i think i take care of most of them pretty well... and i have tried to explain to catherine that being married is a wonderful feeling... but it can also be OH-MY-PLEASE-DON'T-TELL-ME-IT'S-TOO-LATE-TO-ANNUL! as well.

the trick is to make it through those bad times without actually going through with something you might regret later.

:)

i wish catherine and coley all the luck in the world. being able to find the one person in the world that you want to spend the rest of you life with is an amazing feeling and a gift from God...


xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker