05.30.2007 at 3:20 pm

just being leigh

yesterday melanie visited me in my classroom for a couple of hours. she did give me some things to think about. sometimes, when you (and when i say you, i mean me) hear something from one person, it just doesn't click. but then you hear it again, from someone who has no ulterior motive or who is in no way enamored with you (husband, wife, mother, father, etc...), and it makes sense.... or it causes you to really think about it.

she was looking at the pictures of me on picasaweb. and it so happens, that her favorite picture of me is one that i don't necessarily even like. here it is. it's her favorite because it shows my freckles and that my makeup (except for my mascara) has worn off through the day. maybe i should quit trying so hard to be beautiful.

maybe i just can be leigh.

i never really thought of it like that. until she said it like that.

this morning, after my shower, i sat in the living room and watched a dr. phil rerun while i was putting lotion on my legs. then i went to sit at my vanity and put on my makeup. even though i know i will never go without certain items of makeup (mascara -- i have the lightest eyelashes ever, i think they are invisible without mascara), i tried to do the minimum. and i actually feel pretty good about it.

hopefully, i will feel just as good this afternoon at 5 when i finally leave the school.

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker