04.20.2007 at 8:50 am

my best friends

i have some of the best friends that a woman could ever ask for. they are the kind of friends that only come around once in a lifetime - and when you encounter them, you must latch onto them and never let go.

nancy

nancy is janie's daycare provider. she's about five years older than me, has two wonderful children of her own, and twelve more that she loves just as much as her own. i can ask her anything and get a straightforward response. i can also ask her for any favor under the sun and voila! it will be so.

she is the kind of woman who will drive twelve miles out of town to my house to bring janie her bear at ten o'clock at night, because she has forgotten it at daycare and she cannot sleep without it. she is the kind of woman who will wax my eyebrows at seven in the morning because she knows that they grow like kudzu in the summer. she is the kind of woman who scolds me for saying things like i'm soooo fat. because i believe she truly feels that i am beautiful.

melanie


melanie is my best girl friend. i use to think that she was my best work-friend. but i have come to find out that she is my best work-friend, and my best girl friend. melanie is about six years older than me, and has three delightful children. she is the epitome of what a mother should be - polite, yet stern - humble, yet proud.

she is the kind of woman who will buy me a pair of yellow box flip flops because she knows that i want them, but i will not buy them for myself based on the premise that they are not practical. she is the kind of woman who will show up on work even though she is on maternity leave to bring me a package of reece's fast breaks because she knows i probably need a pick-me-up.

chris


yes. this is my husband. but he really is my best friend. chris worries about me and janie driving to see him when he works away from home, because he knows that i do not see well at night and my anxiety level skyrockets when i have to drive in the dark. he pays for everything that he can, so that i can use my paycheck as i want to. he pays for my car, daycare for janie, and all the other bills that i really don't want to even think about. he works away from home, not because he wants to, but because he knows that he has to. without his income, janie would not have the nice clothes that she does, nor would i have my car, or any of the nice things in our home. not to mention that we would never be able to move out of our teensy-tinesy home and into a bigger one some day.

i love this man more now, after almost six years of marriage, than i did on the day that we got married. we have been through some trials - but we have prevailed. our marriage is stronger, and our spirits have grown. we respect each other genuinely and go to sleep every night knowing that the other is thinking about and missing them.

- - - - - -

i think i actually might be the luckiest woman in the world.

xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker