04.13.2005 at 12:37 pm

flood

last night was one of those nights that will stand out in my mind for a while....it started out as a normal afternoon. i went to wal-mart and bought some groceries...janie has gotten to where she wants to feed herself, so i bought her some strawberries, cherry tomatoes, blue berries, and blackberries. i figured she could feed these to herself and she would love it. then i went to pick up janie from day care.

we got home around 4:30 or so and i put on the wiggles for janie to watch and i started to wash dishes.

around five janie ate supper. and by the way, she HATED all the stuff i had bought her. she acted like the strawberries were horrible and the cherry tomatoes actually made her gag. she is so fickle. one day she wants to feed herself, and the next she is fine with being fed by me. *sigh*

anyway...around six o'clock or so i decided to put janie in the tub. that lasted about 25 minutes or so. when i was sitting in the bathroom with her, watching her play, i thought i could hear something going on outside. like it was raining. and i just shrugged it off.

i scooped janie up out of the tub and laid her down on my bed so i could dress her in her jammies. i had just gotten her diaper and socks on when i heard the smoke detector go off.

***BEEP***

***BEEP***

janie looked up and me and put her little hands over her ears.

i picked her up and ran into the kitchen. i saw water all over the floor. the hot water heater was leaking all over the place. i set janie down in the living room so she could watch the wiggles and i went back into the pantry (which is where our hot water heater is). the smoke detector kept beeping and it was really REALLY upsetting janie, so i ripped it off the wall and threw it out the front door onto the lawn.

at this point i probably had about one inch of standing water in my pantry. some valve-thingy wasn't working properly (or it was working properly...depending on how you look at it) and i had old faithful in my pantry. and i had NO CLUE as to how to turn the stupid thing off. so i call my dad.

good ol' dad.

*sigh*

in the past 3 weeks this is the 2nd time he has had to come to my rescue.

but anyway...

there i was, holding the phone to my ear with my right shoulder and trying to catch some of the water that was flooding my home with a bucket so i could pour it down the sink. not to mention that the water that was spewing out of this thing was hot. and i mean HOT.

when daddy got to the house, he flipped on little lever and the geyser became more of a trickle.

that, i could deal with.

dad decided that he should turn off the hot water heater just in case. so that meant that i would not have any hot water for a shower the next morning. so i had three options...


  1. take a cold shower in the morning.
  2. don't take a shower and go to work stinky in the morning.
  3. stay at mom and dad's house.

of course, i opted for staying with mom and dad.

and here's the kicker. i had just finished loading everything into my car...clothes, janie's sippy cups, pacifiers, shoes, etc...and i locked my keys to my house AND my car INSIDE MY HOUSE.

thank GOD i had already put janie in the car, or we would have had MAJOR problems....

anyway, my car is sitting in front of my house right now.

i had to drive my dad's truck to work. *sigh*


xoxo



tell me i'm beautiful...

||

before || my pins || after

twitter logo pinterest logo instagram logo flickr logo facebook logo

eXTReMe Tracker